Athletes inducted into Athletic Hall of Fame


Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Many schools throughout Harford County have an athletic Hall of Fame, but up until this year, NH did not.  However, with the hard work of a committee, the Hawks Nest will be to recognize the contributions of many of its former athletes and coaches.

Principal Mr. Colin Carr, several of our coaches, ex-coaches and athletic directors form the committee that has met several times over the past year to plan for the first Hall of Fame inductions.

They have contacted a total of 31 North Harford alumni and six noteworthy coaches to notify them that will be inducted into the first ever Hall of Fame. The 31 alumni inducted consist of 20 star athletes, 10 men and 10 women. The last 11 athletes make up the 1962 boys basketball team, the first team to win the State Championship from Harford County.

The inductees were carefully chosen by the event committee and include the following:  Kathy Beresh(‘88), Sandy Steltz Burkett(‘65), Cory Donohoe(‘07), Suzanne Eyle (98’), Beth Goodwin(‘97), Jen Griffin(‘02), Rachel Scarborough(‘59), Wanda Troyer(‘71), Peggy Waddell(‘58), Lori Ziegler(‘82). The 10 men are Glenn Allen(‘83), Paul Glamp(‘75), Henry Gordon(‘76), Dave Hoeck(‘73), Randy McMillan(‘77), Tom Riley(‘70), Scott Sheppard(‘81), Keith Smith(‘95), Ed Snodgrass(‘70), Tim Tarbert(‘78). The members of the 1962 boys basketball team are Greg Beattie(‘64), John Blaney(‘62), Bob Bonhage(‘62), Ron Cole(‘64), Dave DeRan(‘64), Clifford Hopkins(‘63), Mac Lloyd(‘62), Kirk Nevin(‘62), Dave Sanborn(‘62), Nick Whiteford(‘62) and Robert Garbacik, their coach.

Additionally the committee is also honoring six coaches who were impactful and successful in their career. These coaches include the late Tom Berg (women’s soccer), Chuck Dysleski (wrestling), John Grubb (men’s lacrosse), Lin James (women’s basketball), Fran Mathews (field hockey/ athletic director), and Dave Starnes(track and field).

The North Harford Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony will be held at Pondview in Norrisville on October.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Athletes inducted into Athletic Hall of Fame